Design excellence since 1853

Luckett & Farley was founded in 1853 and is one of the oldest continuing architectural firms in the country. The firm was founded in Louisville, Kentucky under the names Isaiah Rogers and Henry Whitestone. Whitestone’s practice was succeeded by D. X. Murphy in 1880 and D. X. Murphy & Brother in 1890. Whitestone and the Murphy firm were responsible for some of Louisville’s historic landmarks. Included were the Louisville City Hall Clock Tower, Churchill Downs, the original Jefferson County Jail and the L & N Railroad Office Building.

In 1935, D. X. Murphy & Brother was incorporated. In 1962, the owners of the firm, Jean D. Farley and T. D. Luckett, II, changed its name to Luckett & Farley, Inc. By this time, the staff included architects as well as civil and structural engineers. In 1970, in-house mechanical and electrical engineering services were added to the scope of services provided by Luckett & Farley, as well as construction management. In 1973, the firm changed to its current corporate name of Luckett & Farley Architects, Engineers and Construction Managers, Inc.

Ownership of the firm was acquired in 1982 by three senior managers: Dennis C. DeWitt, President; Ronald E. Kendall, Senior Vice President; and Douglas Wilkerson, Vice President, and Treasurer. In April 1993, Douglas Wilkerson retired from the firm after 23 years of service. In 2000, an Employee-Owned Stock Ownership Plan was implemented, giving every employee the opportunity to share in the ownership of the firm. In 2002, Ron Kendall retired after 30 years of service.

In 2002, members of firm’s management committee became owners and marked the new generation of leadership at the firm. They included Ed Jerdonek, Rob Diamond, Gail Miller and Belinda Gates. In 2005, Dennis DeWitt retired after 25 years of service. The four remaining partners, Ed Jerdonek, Rob Diamond, Gail Miller and Belinda Gates continued as firm principals and owners. In 2010 Belinda Gates retired after 17 years of service. In 2012 Gail Miller retired after 25 years with the firm. Today, Luckett & Farley is 100% Employee-Owned.

logo--full-red L&F